Problem with scripts

Have questions about CoD/UO mapping that aren't covered in the tutorials section? Post here!

Moderator: Core Staff

All-Killer
CJ Worshipper
CJ Worshipper
Posts: 383
Joined: December 16th, 2005, 6:38 pm

Problem with scripts

Post by All-Killer » August 23rd, 2006, 4:22 pm

Hi

I have a problem i asked nightmare to teach me how to make totating poles and it doenst work whats the prob?

I called the rotating things jm_woods_spinning1 and 2

this is the script:

Code: Select all

main()
{
maps\mp\_load::main();
maps\mp\jm_woods_spin1::main();
maps\mp\jm_woods_spin2::main();
}

jm_woods_spin1()
{
spin = getent("jm_woods_spinning1","targetname"); 
while (1)
{

spin rotateyaw(-360, 5);

spin waittill("rotatedone");
}
}

jm_woods_spin2()
{
spin = getent("jm_woods_spinning2","targetname"); 
while (1)
{

spin rotateyaw(-360, 5);

spin waittill("rotatedone");
}
}

Nightmare cant just see whats the problem please help me and my maps wil be very cool :wink:
Image

User avatar
Nightmare
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 2688
Joined: January 12th, 2006, 10:09 pm
Contact:

Post by Nightmare » August 23rd, 2006, 4:31 pm

I see whats the problem now, here try this script:

Code: Select all

main()
{
maps\mp\_load::main();

thread jm_woods_spin1();
thread jm_woods_spin2();
}

jm_woods_spin1()
{
spin = getent("jm_woods_spinning1","targetname");
while (1)
{

spin rotateyaw(-360, 5);

spin waittill("rotatedone");
}
}

jm_woods_spin2()
{
spin = getent("jm_woods_spinning2","targetname");
while (1)
{

spin rotateyaw(-360, 5);

spin waittill("rotatedone");
}
} 
that should work
Coding is Poetry. Mapping is Art.
"Cause im the sexiest mapper ever...except for nm, that sexy man" - Soviet

-=[CoDJumper.com Movies]=-
[Ambush] || [Backlot] || [Bloc] || [Bog] || [Broadcast] || [Chinatown] || [Countdown]
[Crash] || [Creek] || [Crossfire] || [District] || [Downpour] || [Killhouse] || [Overgrown]
[Pipeline] || [Shipment & Wetwork] || [Showdown] || [Strike] || [Vacant]

User avatar
Drofder2004
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 13313
Joined: April 13th, 2005, 8:22 pm
Location: UK, London

Post by Drofder2004 » August 23rd, 2006, 4:40 pm

Rename all your spinning poles to "jm_woods_spinning" and use this code. To make more poles, simply just give them the same targetname.

Code: Select all

main()
{
maps\mp\_load::main();

spin = getentarray("jm_woods_spinning","targetname");
for(i=0;i<spin.size;i++)
{
   spin thread jm_woods_spin();
}
}

jm_woods_spin()
{
while (1)
{
self rotateyaw(-360, 5);
self waittill("rotatedone");
}
}
Image
Virgin Media 20Mb Broadband:
"Perfect for families going online at the same time, downloading movies, online gaming and more."
Borked internet since: 22-07-2010

All-Killer
CJ Worshipper
CJ Worshipper
Posts: 383
Joined: December 16th, 2005, 6:38 pm

Post by All-Killer » August 23rd, 2006, 4:56 pm

Thanks guys. I will test drofders way because its easyer for me. And again, thanks for the help nm :wink:

Hmm it still dont work...
Last edited by All-Killer on August 23rd, 2006, 5:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

creator
CJ Worshipper
CJ Worshipper
Posts: 492
Joined: July 6th, 2006, 11:37 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by creator » August 23rd, 2006, 5:10 pm

think ur problem is: u didnt put thread in it
Cod 1 Mapper&Modder&Moddeler

All-Killer
CJ Worshipper
CJ Worshipper
Posts: 383
Joined: December 16th, 2005, 6:38 pm

Post by All-Killer » August 23rd, 2006, 5:32 pm

Yeah nightmares one works. I think i will post some pics today otherwise tomorrow
Image

User avatar
Nightmare
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 2688
Joined: January 12th, 2006, 10:09 pm
Contact:

Post by Nightmare » August 23rd, 2006, 5:33 pm

NM: 1 Drof: 0

:P
Coding is Poetry. Mapping is Art.
"Cause im the sexiest mapper ever...except for nm, that sexy man" - Soviet

-=[CoDJumper.com Movies]=-
[Ambush] || [Backlot] || [Bloc] || [Bog] || [Broadcast] || [Chinatown] || [Countdown]
[Crash] || [Creek] || [Crossfire] || [District] || [Downpour] || [Killhouse] || [Overgrown]
[Pipeline] || [Shipment & Wetwork] || [Showdown] || [Strike] || [Vacant]

User avatar
Drofder2004
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 13313
Joined: April 13th, 2005, 8:22 pm
Location: UK, London

Post by Drofder2004 » August 23rd, 2006, 5:41 pm

All-Killer wrote:Thanks guys. I will test drofders way because its easyer for me. And again, thanks for the help nm :wink:

Hmm it still dont work...
did you get an error or did you just not rename all the targetnames?

Scripting looks fine.

Nightmare, your way is redundant. Every new entity All-Killer adds will require another thread, my way supports infinite entities :P
Image
Virgin Media 20Mb Broadband:
"Perfect for families going online at the same time, downloading movies, online gaming and more."
Borked internet since: 22-07-2010

creator
CJ Worshipper
CJ Worshipper
Posts: 492
Joined: July 6th, 2006, 11:37 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by creator » August 23rd, 2006, 5:42 pm

the problem was: nightmare didnt had 'thread' in his script he edited after i said that :P works fine now right all killer? 8)
Cod 1 Mapper&Modder&Moddeler

User avatar
Drofder2004
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 13313
Joined: April 13th, 2005, 8:22 pm
Location: UK, London

Post by Drofder2004 » August 23rd, 2006, 5:45 pm

creator wrote:the problem was: nightmare didnt had 'thread' in his script he edited after i said that :P works fine now right all killer? 8)
I'm not talking about nightmares script, his script runs fine (as AK has said), mine is not working for him, which imo is the more professional and less redundant method.
Image
Virgin Media 20Mb Broadband:
"Perfect for families going online at the same time, downloading movies, online gaming and more."
Borked internet since: 22-07-2010

All-Killer
CJ Worshipper
CJ Worshipper
Posts: 383
Joined: December 16th, 2005, 6:38 pm

Post by All-Killer » August 23rd, 2006, 7:07 pm

No i dont get an error but my pillars jus dont rotate. I did what you said and it don't work. But i must say that youre script was easyer to use. I can send you the .map and you can try it yourself. If it than works i really dont know whats the problem, because it doesn't work by me.

P.S. new screens --> http://www.freewebs.com/all-killer/akwoodsgallery.htm
Image

profinuyasha
CJ Newbie
CJ Newbie
Posts: 88
Joined: February 21st, 2006, 1:06 am
Contact:

Post by profinuyasha » August 27th, 2006, 7:14 am

lol now i know what different about rotate :P, one of rotate are fun!!!! i showed it to some of CJ of spawn_v4.pk3 and its awesome :P

if you want spin in X Axis or Y Axis then you gonna use rotatepitch instead rotateyaw
Image
Image
DYOR :-)

profinuyasha
CJ Newbie
CJ Newbie
Posts: 88
Joined: February 21st, 2006, 1:06 am
Contact:

Post by profinuyasha » August 27th, 2006, 7:17 am

Old Nightmare wrote:NM: 1 Drof: 0
err...i dont think so....DROF WIN!

also he mean this......
New Nightmare wrote:NM: 0 Drof: 1
Image
Image
DYOR :-)

User avatar
Nightmare
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 2688
Joined: January 12th, 2006, 10:09 pm
Contact:

Post by Nightmare » August 27th, 2006, 2:02 pm

um did you read? drofs script didnt work for him :?
so its still
nm:1 drof: 0

:D
Coding is Poetry. Mapping is Art.
"Cause im the sexiest mapper ever...except for nm, that sexy man" - Soviet

-=[CoDJumper.com Movies]=-
[Ambush] || [Backlot] || [Bloc] || [Bog] || [Broadcast] || [Chinatown] || [Countdown]
[Crash] || [Creek] || [Crossfire] || [District] || [Downpour] || [Killhouse] || [Overgrown]
[Pipeline] || [Shipment & Wetwork] || [Showdown] || [Strike] || [Vacant]

User avatar
Drofder2004
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 13313
Joined: April 13th, 2005, 8:22 pm
Location: UK, London

Post by Drofder2004 » August 27th, 2006, 2:20 pm

Erm, I think the fact I just got you a working wheel thingy, that it is actually

Me > you.

I have no definite number. My posts are mainly in these forums and look at my post count ;)
Image
Virgin Media 20Mb Broadband:
"Perfect for families going online at the same time, downloading movies, online gaming and more."
Borked internet since: 22-07-2010

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest