Page 1 of 2
continueing the Gravity topic
Posted: September 4th, 2006, 1:01 pm
by Moriar
Sorry for posting this new topic but this might work
when you create for example a trigger_use, and you press n...
you get this list:
Code: Select all
when activated will use its target
"delay" - time (in seconds) before it can be used again
"offnoise" - specifies an alternate sound
"cursorhint" - sets the cursor hint icon to display when the player looks at it. Default is HINT_ACTIVATE.
"hintstring" - hint string to display over the icon. Auto replaces [Use] with the key the player must press. Example: "Press [Use] to plant the bomb"
"cursorhint" cursor types:
HINT_INHERIT
HINT_NONE
HINT_ACTIVATE
HINT_NOACTIVATE
HINT_DOOR
HINT_DOOR_LOCKED
HINT_MG42
HINT_HEALTH
HINT_LADDER
HINT_EXIT
HINT_FRIENDLY
I am able to use those commands, but can I also activate them by a script?
if I can it might be able to set gravity in a specific area

Posted: September 4th, 2006, 2:28 pm
by Drofder2004
I fail to see how anything here will do area-specific gravity.
Posted: September 4th, 2006, 4:04 pm
by creator
Drofder2004 wrote:I fail to see how anything here will do area-specific gravity.
cant see it either... it will just change the whole map unless u use trig multiple or such as that and make a specific area with it where u want the gravity changes
Posted: September 4th, 2006, 4:09 pm
by creator
cant edit for some reason
talked to him and i think he means: if he can use those commands in a script without typing it in the enity box
if it can ( he says ) its possible to make the gravity work
Posted: September 4th, 2006, 6:28 pm
by Drofder2004
I will say this again (like many people have said)...
Gravity CAN be changed via script... but NOT area specific.
Posted: September 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
by Soviet
maybe you people should listen to drofder and shut the hell up...he tends to be right about these things
Posted: September 5th, 2006, 7:27 pm
by Moriar
You probably don't understand what I mean....
I mean: can I activate this?--->
Code: Select all
"hintstring" - hint string to display over the icon. Auto replaces [Use] with the key the player must press. Example: "Press [Use] to plant the bomb"
by editing the script?...its not that hard to understand
add a hintstring in a script
just like: give a brush a targetname(targetname123) and then in the script you do: targetname123 (and then add a key and value to it)
I really hope someone understand now
Posted: September 6th, 2006, 1:04 am
by Drofder2004
Yeh but how is a hintstring going to do anything with gravity?
hintstrings simply put a message on a trigger?
If you want to change that, I believe...
trig = getent("trig","targetname");
trig.hintstring = "New trigger Hintstring";
untested.
Posted: September 6th, 2006, 10:20 am
by Marshall
lol
Marshall
Posted: September 6th, 2006, 3:17 pm
by Moriar
no it doesn't do anything with Gravity, but if it works...It will work the same on gravity
hopefully...
So it would be this:
Code: Select all
trig1= getent("triggrav1getname");
trig1gravity = "800";
and all other worldspawns (or trigger, need to find out) this:
Code: Select all
trig1= getent("triggrav2rgetname");
trig2gravity = "100";
So that one in the specific area for the low gravity
Hope it works
Posted: September 6th, 2006, 4:10 pm
by Moriar
Then its not a trigger....but a worldspawn
Then it should work
Posted: September 6th, 2006, 5:41 pm
by Drofder2004
You can ONLY cahnge the WORLDSPAWN gravity, not a SPECIFIC AREA.
If you change the gravity, the entire map will be affected.
Posted: September 6th, 2006, 9:18 pm
by Nightmare
how hard is it for people to understand?
Posted: September 6th, 2006, 11:22 pm
by Soviet
Soviet wrote:maybe you people should listen to drofder and shut the hell up...he tends to be right about these things
Posted: September 7th, 2006, 7:14 am
by Moriar
maybe it doesn't work
but cant you change 1 worldspawn to gravity: 100 and the other gravity: 800 ?
Im still hoping it will work
