Page 1 of 2

brush width, height, length | and player dvar/server issues

Posted: August 3rd, 2013, 1:05 am
by pcbouncer
as simple as it is, i don't know how to get these values.. does anyone know how?

also,
in a recent topic i tried to change player properties like g_speed, and it wouldn't work, does anyone know anything more about this? It shows the value changing in the console but you're locked at the server value.


edit**
the g_speed works in devmap, not in servers. Still, there is a way to change player dvars in a server.

Re: brush width, height, length | and player dvar/server iss

Posted: August 3rd, 2013, 8:12 am
by Goro92
pcbouncer wrote:as simple as it is, i don't know how to get these values.. does anyone know how?
Image

CTRL+TAB and get the Z

Image

Re: brush width, height, length | and player dvar/server iss

Posted: August 3rd, 2013, 8:21 am
by megazor
Unfortunately, you don't have access to brushes by modding. There are a few functions which can work with brushes, but it's still impossible to get brush vertices by it.

Your second question will be soon answered by someone else.

Re: brush width, height, length | and player dvar/server iss

Posted: August 3rd, 2013, 10:43 am
by F |Madness| U
pcbouncer wrote: the g_speed works in devmap, not in servers. Still, there is a way to change player dvars in a server.
Yes, there is. But g_speed is a server dvar, not a player dvar. So changing it on individual players won't do anything. I'm pretty sure Drofder or somebody answered this before, but if you want to change an individual player's speed, use setMoveSpeedScale(<scale>).

Re: brush width, height, length | and player dvar/server iss

Posted: August 3rd, 2013, 11:58 am
by pcbouncer
well ive seen a server mod menu in which you can change your "own" gravity and gspeed based on if you want os and or g speed. there is some way to do it, i just dont know how. And i was talking about the brush width and stuff with script :S

Re: brush width, height, length | and player dvar/server iss

Posted: August 3rd, 2013, 2:17 pm
by F |Madness| U
It might be able to be done with some linux server changes or something. Ask the person who made the mod on that server.

Re: brush width, height, length | and player dvar/server iss

Posted: August 3rd, 2013, 2:26 pm
by Drofder2004
Brushes are not entities and cannot be referenced. The only way you can get a brush width is measuring it, there are ways of doing it, but they involve player interaction and not just script.

Gravity cannot be set on an individual basis - more than likely it was a change in jump_height.

player setMoveSpeedScale(x); for player speed.

(And as Madness above said, there is a chance the binaries were hacked and changed to allow such a possibility - although unlikely).

Re: brush width, height, length | and player dvar/server iss

Posted: August 3rd, 2013, 4:19 pm
by pcbouncer
Yeah but i've tried setmovespeedscale too, servers also dis-allow that :s

Re: brush width, height, length | and player dvar/server iss

Posted: August 3rd, 2013, 4:27 pm
by F |Madness| U
Shouldn't do, plenty of mods use that...

I just tested it and calling a thread on a player with self setMoveSpeedScale(2.0) definitely works.

Re: brush width, height, length | and player dvar/server iss

Posted: August 3rd, 2013, 4:30 pm
by Drofder2004
pcbouncer wrote:Yeah but i've tried setmovespeedscale too, servers also dis-allow that :s
What do you mean by "servers disallow that"?
Something tells me, we are no longer talking about modding...

Re: brush width, height, length | and player dvar/server iss

Posted: August 3rd, 2013, 4:34 pm
by F |Madness| U
^Indeed lol..

Re: brush width, height, length | and player dvar/server iss

Posted: August 4th, 2013, 4:32 am
by pcbouncer
well i have a script that does just that. and it doesnt work in a server

Re: brush width, height, length | and player dvar/server iss

Posted: August 4th, 2013, 11:58 am
by F |Madness| U
Debug it in the server then. Set developer 2, also put a iPrintLnBold("Debug") next to the setMoveSpeedScale to make sure the code is actually being executed.

Re: brush width, height, length | and player dvar/server iss

Posted: August 4th, 2013, 12:21 pm
by Drofder2004
pcbouncer wrote:well i have a script that does just that. and it doesnt work in a server
Does it work when NOT on a server?

Re: brush width, height, length | and player dvar/server iss

Posted: August 4th, 2013, 4:18 pm
by pcbouncer
yes it does