Page 1 of 3
Quick spotlight question
Posted: June 14th, 2010, 8:31 am
by <LT>YosemiteSam[NL]
I want to make a spotlight but it doesn't work like it should. I'm prbably missing something (definately

).
The way I try and make one is like this;
- make a light
- make an info_null
- select light and info_null then press w
- select light and give it the following values;
Code: Select all
classname = light
intensity = 1
Radius = 50
fov_outer = 45
fov_inner = 10
exponent = 1
color = well...uhm...red (don't know the exact rgb value)
What am I doing wrong here ?
(p.s. I also tried selecting both and enter the values but that also doesn't seem to work)
Thx in advance
Re: Quick spotlight question
Posted: June 14th, 2010, 9:47 am
by Rezil
Code: Select all
key: def
value: light_point_linear
Add these to your light and see if it works.
Re: Quick spotlight question
Posted: June 14th, 2010, 10:18 am
by <LT>YosemiteSam[NL]
Ok, thx I'll try it when I get home.
Re: Quick spotlight question
Posted: June 14th, 2010, 10:39 am
by Drofder2004
Firstly:
_color not color
(colour is worked out using a simple bit of maths...)
Go to paint/photoshop and get the colour you want.
Get the RedGreenBlue value, Red would be [255 0 0]
Divide each number by 255 to get your "_color" value.
Red being [1 0 0]
Secondly:
When linking the info_null, make sure you select the light FIRST (this makes the light target the info, not the otherway round).
Finally:
http://wiki.modsrepository.com/index.ph ... umentation
Re: Quick spotlight question
Posted: June 14th, 2010, 7:32 pm
by <LT>YosemiteSam[NL]
I also found and followed that link drof, but to no avail. Ok here some screens from what I filled out ;
What am I doing wrong here ?
Re: Quick spotlight question
Posted: June 14th, 2010, 8:00 pm
by Rezil
I want to make a spotlight but it doesn't work like it should.
You said it doesn't work like it should. How DOES it work/does it work at all?
Re: Quick spotlight question
Posted: June 15th, 2010, 7:30 am
by <LT>YosemiteSam[NL]
It looks like the fov_outer, fov_inner and the exponent don't do anything.
In radient it still looks like a normal light (round sphere). You should see the spotlight in radient ...right ? Just like the screenshots in the link drofder posted.
Re: Quick spotlight question
Posted: June 15th, 2010, 8:10 am
by Drofder2004
I would suggest a compile check, just in case.
Re: Quick spotlight question
Posted: June 15th, 2010, 8:39 am
by <LT>YosemiteSam[NL]
Drofder2004 wrote:I would suggest a compile check, just in case.
When you select the light in radiant you should see the spotlightbeam instead of a normal roundlight ....right ?
If that is the case the compiler has nothing to do with it ?
Re: Quick spotlight question
Posted: June 15th, 2010, 9:08 am
by Drofder2004
Its been many years... I don't even think I used the radiant light thingy, always prefered to compile.
Re: Quick spotlight question
Posted: June 15th, 2010, 9:57 am
by Rezil
<LT>YosemiteSam[NL] wrote:
When you select the light in radiant you should see the spotlightbeam instead of a normal roundlight ....right ?
If that is the case the compiler has nothing to do with it ?
Not true, that works only in CoD4 and later because of a new lighting system in Radiant. You have to compile to see your spotlight in CoD2Radiant.
As Drofder said, compile to check.
Re: Quick spotlight question
Posted: June 15th, 2010, 10:02 am
by <LT>YosemiteSam[NL]
Aha .. thx.
I'll check when I get home.
Re: Quick spotlight question
Posted: June 18th, 2010, 11:58 am
by Rezil
So you got this fixed Sam?
Re: Quick spotlight question
Posted: June 21st, 2010, 7:19 pm
by <LT>YosemiteSam[NL]
Nope, It didn't work m8.
I put in the values like I posted and compiled but I don't get any light now ?
This is how it looks in radient;
Re: Quick spotlight question
Posted: June 21st, 2010, 7:37 pm
by ConnoR
BRIAAAAAAAAAN!