Page 2 of 2

Re: Jumppads or flippads possible ?

Posted: May 10th, 2010, 10:47 pm
by waywaaaard
Soviet wrote:If you want it to be more freeform, check out the SetMoveSpeedScale command. I used this a while back with some trigger_multiples on some ramps. When the player sprints up them they're launched forward as they touch the script, and with a little bit more code you can have it revert back over time with a for loop as they fly. It's not exactly a "jumppad", but it definitely launches the player and allows somewhat controlled flight.
in CoD2? Haven't seen this function yet. The best way in cod2 would be with setvelocity(<player origin>) but SP only.

Re: Jumppads or flippads possible ?

Posted: May 11th, 2010, 10:54 am
by <LT>YosemiteSam[NL]
Lev!athan wrote:add me on xfire or just ask here I can do the scripting for ya :D
Thx, but I like to figure this stuff out cause I would like to know more about scripting, so I'll try this on my own (with ofcourse the questions here :-))

Re: Jumppads or flippads possible ?

Posted: May 11th, 2010, 2:53 pm
by <LT>YosemiteSam[NL]
Why I need the pads is because I'm doing a remake of an Unreal tournament map.
I guess making a Redeemer out of the Panzershreck is too much to ask :( :)

Re: Jumppads or flippads possible ?

Posted: May 11th, 2010, 5:15 pm
by waywaaaard
Mh would be some work :P

Re: Jumppads or flippads possible ?

Posted: May 14th, 2010, 11:31 pm
by <LT>YosemiteSam[NL]
Damn, I'm totally at a loss.

I used your script but it won't run. I put the code in my GSC file like so and copied your code into a new gsc;

main()
{

maps\mp\_load::main();
maps\mp\teleport::main();
maps\mp\bounce_jump::main();

But it won't run it.

What targetname and target do I use for the trigger ?
and what targetname and target do i use fot the script_origin ?

Re: Jumppads or flippads possible ?

Posted: May 15th, 2010, 11:15 am
by waywaaaard
Trigger:
Ok you can give the trigger any name you want. But it must be the same for all the jump pads. Let's call all jump pad triggers:"jumppad".

Then we would use in the script a function that threads the bouncejump() function for each jumppad.

Code: Select all

	bjArray = getEntArray("jumppad", "targetname");
	if(isdefined(bjArray)){
		for(i = 0; i < bjArray.size; i++)
			bjArray[i] thread bounce_jump();
	}


Script_Origin:
The name of the script_origin doesn't matter there has to be just one. Select your trigger and then select your script_origin(now are both selected and in that order). Hit W to auto connect those. Your done. (I hope it was W, after that should appear a line between your trigger and your script_origin)

Re: Jumppads or flippads possible ?

Posted: May 16th, 2010, 12:58 pm
by <LT>YosemiteSam[NL]
Woohoo, thx m8 it worked.

Re: Jumppads or flippads possible ?

Posted: May 17th, 2010, 12:37 pm
by BatterY
<LT>YosemiteSam[NL] wrote:Why I need the pads is because I'm doing a remake of an Unreal tournament map.
I guess making a Redeemer out of the Panzershreck is too much to ask :( :)
Not! Combine these two:
weapons.rar
Can't tell you source :shock:

...and which map are you remaking? IMO, Hall of Giants was best (and easy to remake)

Re: Jumppads or flippads possible ?

Posted: May 17th, 2010, 3:49 pm
by <LT>YosemiteSam[NL]
aha, I'll take a look at it when I get home but I already made a redeemer. All except the weapon itself.

I'm thinking of remaking Deck16 ... my alltime favorite map of unreal and I think alot of people will agree :)

Re: Jumppads or flippads possible ?

Posted: June 2nd, 2010, 10:55 am
by BatterY
Do Facing Worlds! :D I absolutely loved it when played it for the first time... good days...