pendulums...

Have questions about CoD/UO mapping that aren't covered in the tutorials section? Post here!

Moderator: Core Staff

Post Reply
De$t!ny
Past/Inactive Team Member
Past/Inactive Team Member
Posts: 374
Joined: November 11th, 2004, 8:24 pm

pendulums...

Post by De$t!ny » May 9th, 2005, 12:46 am

n e 1 know how 2 make them? cod radiant is such a piece of crap that loads of stuff don't work properly but its the only thing 2 use :evil: if u try 2 make pedulums with origin and brushmodel and u load the map then it will same something like bad mover state, n e 1 got ideas? :idea:

User avatar
Drofder2004
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 13313
Joined: April 13th, 2005, 8:22 pm
Location: UK, London

Post by Drofder2004 » May 9th, 2005, 2:41 pm

This is definitly something that needs to be scripted. (I will look into it).

The problem is though, if you plan on jumping on to a moving object, the player start moving very strangly
Image
Virgin Media 20Mb Broadband:
"Perfect for families going online at the same time, downloading movies, online gaming and more."
Borked internet since: 22-07-2010

User avatar
Drofder2004
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 13313
Joined: April 13th, 2005, 8:22 pm
Location: UK, London

Post by Drofder2004 » May 9th, 2005, 3:58 pm

Well, with a bit of scripting i got it to work... until after 30 seconds it crashed :evil:

posted on modsonline for help...
Image
Virgin Media 20Mb Broadband:
"Perfect for families going online at the same time, downloading movies, online gaming and more."
Borked internet since: 22-07-2010

User avatar
woCooM
Past/Inactive Team Member
Past/Inactive Team Member
Posts: 886
Joined: November 2nd, 2004, 6:06 pm
PSN ID: Sanctifico
Location: I.I.T.Y.I.W.H.T.K.Y! <work it out!
Contact:

Post by woCooM » May 9th, 2005, 6:00 pm

it should work without scripting.. ill have a play when i get the chance
Image
Some People Look Back on WWII, I LIVE IT!
Для Матb россия!
Image

User avatar
Drofder2004
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 13313
Joined: April 13th, 2005, 8:22 pm
Location: UK, London

Post by Drofder2004 » May 9th, 2005, 6:41 pm

woCooM wrote:it should work without scripting.. ill have a play when i get the chance
func_pendulum is not supported by CoD and instantly crashes when map is run. (same for func_bobbing).
Image
Virgin Media 20Mb Broadband:
"Perfect for families going online at the same time, downloading movies, online gaming and more."
Borked internet since: 22-07-2010

User avatar
Noodle
Past/Inactive Team Member
Past/Inactive Team Member
Posts: 266
Joined: January 16th, 2005, 10:52 am
Location: Cambridge/Hull, UK
Contact:

Post by Noodle » May 9th, 2005, 6:46 pm

Theres a mapping program that maps for loads of different games (mostly made in quake engine) called Quark http://dynamic.gamespy.com/~quark/ Can use it for CoD mapping. That might have a working func_pendulum. I havent tried it myself but I have been told its good, will try it soon.

User avatar
Drofder2004
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 13313
Joined: April 13th, 2005, 8:22 pm
Location: UK, London

Post by Drofder2004 » May 9th, 2005, 7:13 pm

Noodle wrote:Theres a mapping program that maps for loads of different games (mostly made in quake engine) called Quark http://dynamic.gamespy.com/~quark/ Can use it for CoD mapping. That might have a working func_pendulum. I havent tried it myself but I have been told its good, will try it soon.
its not the fact that it doesnt have func_rotating. its just CoD itself does not allow it...

Anyway, i believe I have it working.

Will post up the details in a minute.
Image
Virgin Media 20Mb Broadband:
"Perfect for families going online at the same time, downloading movies, online gaming and more."
Borked internet since: 22-07-2010

User avatar
Drofder2004
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 13313
Joined: April 13th, 2005, 8:22 pm
Location: UK, London

Post by Drofder2004 » May 9th, 2005, 7:26 pm

Ok, first create the pendulum with and add an origin brush for the origin.

Select all objects + origin and Right-Click > Script < Brushmodel

Press 'n' to bring up the entities window.
Put Key/Value as "targetname" "pendulum" (pendulum can be any name)

And thats all for the mapping.

For the script

add "maps\mp\pendulum_fx::main();" in your main gsc file
and create a gsc file called pendulum_fx.

In that file add this code

**********Start**********
main ()
{
thread pendulum();
}

pendulum ()
{
swing = getent ("pendulum","targetname"); Swing can be any name, and pendulum must be the same as the target name you gave it).
while (1)
{
swing rotateto ((0, 0, 50), 1, 0.5, 0.5); Format = (x, y, z), time, accel, decel). xyz= angle it rotates to on the set axis. time = time it takes. Accel and decel are the speed up and slow down of the rotate. Use this to make the pendulum look realistic
swing waittill ("rotatedone");
wait (0);
swing rotateto ((0, 0, -50), 1, 0.5, 0.5); Angles must be opposite to above to make a mirror image of the rotation.
swing waittill ("rotatedone");
}
}

**********End**********

Remove everything in italic.
Hope that helps :)
Image
Virgin Media 20Mb Broadband:
"Perfect for families going online at the same time, downloading movies, online gaming and more."
Borked internet since: 22-07-2010

De$t!ny
Past/Inactive Team Member
Past/Inactive Team Member
Posts: 374
Joined: November 11th, 2004, 8:24 pm

Post by De$t!ny » May 9th, 2005, 7:44 pm

sweet! thx a lot :D

User avatar
Drofder2004
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 13313
Joined: April 13th, 2005, 8:22 pm
Location: UK, London

Post by Drofder2004 » May 9th, 2005, 8:15 pm

If you plan on having someone use it (get on and travel sorta thing) then you will neep to add an extra 'lip' around the pendulum, otherwise the pendulum gets stuck when your are on it.

I also added a 1 second wait time for people to get on and off.

**********Start**********
main ()
{
thread pendulum();
}

pendulum ()
{
swing = getent ("pendulum","targetname");
while (1)
{
swing rotateto ((0, 0, 45), 1, 0.5, 0.5);
swing waittill ("rotatedone");
wait (1);
swing rotateto ((0, 0, -45), 1, 0.5, 0.5);
swing waittill ("rotatedone");
wait (1);
}
}

*********END**********

Also 50 degrees is too much, the player slips off, but 45 degrees is fine.
Image
Virgin Media 20Mb Broadband:
"Perfect for families going online at the same time, downloading movies, online gaming and more."
Borked internet since: 22-07-2010

Meatwad

Post by Meatwad » August 17th, 2005, 11:35 pm

umm can u add an example .map plz? im not very good with following directions :P

User avatar
Drofder2004
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 13313
Joined: April 13th, 2005, 8:22 pm
Location: UK, London

Post by Drofder2004 » August 18th, 2005, 4:06 pm

I have a few things to do first (such as my Indiana Jones scene :P) but after that I will upload a .map file with the .gsc files I used.

And btw, I will also not do it until you register as a member to the forums ;)
Image
Virgin Media 20Mb Broadband:
"Perfect for families going online at the same time, downloading movies, online gaming and more."
Borked internet since: 22-07-2010

Meatwad
CJ Wannabe
CJ Wannabe
Posts: 2
Joined: August 18th, 2005, 11:53 pm

Post by Meatwad » August 18th, 2005, 11:54 pm

its a deal :P

User avatar
MuRpHy*
Past/Inactive Team Member
Past/Inactive Team Member
Posts: 2159
Joined: May 10th, 2005, 11:02 pm
Location: Tha A.T.L Baby ;)

Post by MuRpHy* » August 19th, 2005, 12:34 am

hehe thankyou meatwad for registering, now we dont only have a new member, but we also dont have to worry about guests that cant edit posts and etc. good luck with the pendulum, hope it works out :P i would give some help, but im a very bad scripter :oops:
Image
Image

User avatar
MuRpHy*
Past/Inactive Team Member
Past/Inactive Team Member
Posts: 2159
Joined: May 10th, 2005, 11:02 pm
Location: Tha A.T.L Baby ;)

Post by MuRpHy* » August 19th, 2005, 12:37 am

... now that you are registered, you must SIGN in lol, heres the deal, i will delete that post, and you sign in and say it again :P
Image
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests