First experience with mapping...i.o.w. ...HEEEEEELP

Have questions about CoD2 mapping that aren't covered in the tutorials section? Post here!

Moderator: Core Staff

User avatar
YaNo
CJ Worshipper
CJ Worshipper
Posts: 460
Joined: May 5th, 2005, 9:34 pm
Location: Azeroth
Contact:

Post by YaNo » September 5th, 2007, 8:05 pm

i never use any script for doors :) i just make a door, a turnpole made from origin texture.
Then i select origin, then door, rightmouse button, func -> door_rotating

Works like a charm :)

All-Killer
CJ Worshipper
CJ Worshipper
Posts: 383
Joined: December 16th, 2005, 6:38 pm

Post by All-Killer » September 5th, 2007, 8:10 pm

But those options will give error's to your map, same for GSC Hollow and Substract, just dont use them!
Image

User avatar
YaNo
CJ Worshipper
CJ Worshipper
Posts: 460
Joined: May 5th, 2005, 9:34 pm
Location: Azeroth
Contact:

Post by YaNo » September 5th, 2007, 8:31 pm

i use it always, never had any errors -.-

Luke
Past/Inactive Team Member
Past/Inactive Team Member
Posts: 1774
Joined: May 31st, 2005, 12:42 am
Location: Cornwall, UK

Post by Luke » September 5th, 2007, 9:33 pm

I used it when i started mapping, and they didnt always work very well. With scripting them you get more control, and they work more efficiently.
Watch this before posting a question: http://www.albinoblacksheep.com/flash/posting.php

User avatar
Drofder2004
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 13313
Joined: April 13th, 2005, 8:22 pm
Location: UK, London

Post by Drofder2004 » September 6th, 2007, 3:08 pm

func_door is fine to use, but it is very limited.
You cannot customise it to do anything more than just swing.

No sounds, no timings, nothing fancy, just plain boring :P
Image
Virgin Media 20Mb Broadband:
"Perfect for families going online at the same time, downloading movies, online gaming and more."
Borked internet since: 22-07-2010

User avatar
<LT>YosemiteSam[NL]
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 2155
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 2:07 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by <LT>YosemiteSam[NL] » September 6th, 2007, 4:49 pm

Thx alot guys for helping. Gonna try it out when I get home from work.
Gonna try to add sounds and stuff later when I have the core of the map made. Then texuring adding stuff like cars and so on and so on, lot of "work" to do :roll:

does the func_doorrotating command present in Radiant ?? Can't seem to find it in the func. list. Or do you just code it instead of radiant ?

User avatar
[SoE]_Zaitsev
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 14220
Joined: October 21st, 2004, 7:17 pm
Location: Holland
Contact:

Post by [SoE]_Zaitsev » September 6th, 2007, 5:12 pm

Drofder2004 wrote:func_door is fine to use, but it is very limited.
You cannot customise it to do anything more than just swing.

No sounds, no timings, nothing fancy, just plain boring :P
Any of you played MoH:AA ? There was a map called Crossroads aka The Bridge. In that map you can open doors and they make sounds.

Someone converted The Bridge to CoD2, there's a night version and a day version. And one of those (They're different creators too) has the ability to open doors which make sound.

I'm no scripter but it is possible to add sound to doors.
matt101harris wrote:big cock was the first thing that came to my head lol

User avatar
<LT>YosemiteSam[NL]
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 2155
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 2:07 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by <LT>YosemiteSam[NL] » September 6th, 2007, 5:34 pm

KillerSam wrote:Do not use any of the func features.
Use the scripting as posted above, make your door in the same way as with the func feature.
Have the door in the frame with the origin brush down the "hinged" side, this is the point of rotation. I think there is a tutorial somewhere.

Suggested reading:

http://codjumper.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=5301

http://codjumper.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=1517
I already made the door and it's working fine, without the func. command, I was just wondering if it is at all present in cod2 radiant ?

And Zaitsev: It is possible (haven't made 'em yet). You can even create a door which makes 3 sounds...opening/closing and shut sounds.

Luke
Past/Inactive Team Member
Past/Inactive Team Member
Posts: 1774
Joined: May 31st, 2005, 12:42 am
Location: Cornwall, UK

Post by Luke » September 6th, 2007, 5:39 pm

I think func was removed in cod 2.
You can even create a door which makes 3 sounds...opening/closing and shut sounds
I used sounds for the door in jm_castle for opening and closing :)
Watch this before posting a question: http://www.albinoblacksheep.com/flash/posting.php

All-Killer
CJ Worshipper
CJ Worshipper
Posts: 383
Joined: December 16th, 2005, 6:38 pm

Post by All-Killer » September 6th, 2007, 7:09 pm

Let me help you on the right way.

Code: Select all

door rotateto ((0, 0, 90), 3); //door rotates 90 degrees on z axis in 3 seconds
door playsound ("doorsound");
door waittill("rotatedone"); //makes sure the above is done before proceeding
wait 5;
door rotateto ((0, 0, 0), 3); //after 5 seconds wait, door rotates to its origin
door playsound ("doorsound);
Now make a new folder in youre main map and call it soundaliases, and make inside that a cvs file with the name, youremapname.csv (change youre map name in the name of youre map :wink: )

In that file copy this code:

Code: Select all

"# If the text in the first column of a row starts with a # character, the row is ignored",,"If the first column for a row is blank, then the row is ignored"
,"If the first column for a row is blank, then the row is ignored",
# The first non-comment line of a sound alias file specifies the key name for all values appearing in this column.,,
"# This means it is safe to swap entire columns around, though you should never swap partial columns.",,
"# You can invent new keys, but the game will ignore them if it doesn't know about them.",,
"# You can leave out keys, but the ""name"" and ""file"" keys must always be present.",,

,name,name of the alias that is used to play this sound (required)
,sequence,"used to uniquely identify alias entries when more than one sound goes to an alias, used only to catch unwanted duplicates (default = 0)"
,file,the name of the file that contains the sound data (required)
,vol_min,"0 is silent, 1 is full volume (default = 1)"
,vol_max,"0 is silent, 1 is full volume (default = same as vol_min)"
,vol_mod,"blank causes no effect on vol_min and vol_max, otherwise the string must match a string in the volumemodgroups.def file and the value in that file corresponding to that string will be used to adjust vol_min and vol_max, clamped to the valid range"
,pitch_min,"1 is normal playback, 2 is twice as fast, 0.5 is half as fast (default = 1)"
,pitch_max,"1 is normal playback, 2 is twice as fast, 0.5 is half as fast (default = same as pitch_min)"
,dist_min,"within this distance in inches, the sound is always full volume (default = 120)"
,dist_max,"outside this distance in inches, the sound is not started.  If left blank or set to 0, the sound will play from any distance.  This does not affect sound volume falloff.",,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,channel,"auto, menu, weapon, voice, item, body, local, music, announcer (default = auto)",,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,type,primed (a streamed sound which gets primed on some platforms) / streamed / loaded (default = loaded),,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,probability,weight to use for the weighted probability of playing this sound instead of another sound (default = 1),,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,loop,"whether this sound is ""looping"" or ""nonlooping"" (default = ""nonlooping"")",,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,masterslave,"if ""master"", this is a master sound.  If a number, then this sound's volume will be multiplied by that number (a percentage between 0 and 1) any master sound is playing.  If blank, then neither master nor slave.",,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,loadspec,"space-separated list of which maps should use this alias; eg, ""burnville dawnville"".  If blank, the alias is used on all maps.",,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,compression,"a string corresponding to an entry in ""XMAUpdate.tbl"" which is used to determine compression by XMAUpdate.exe",,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,secondaryaliasname,"defined the name of an additional sound alias to play in addition to the current alias being played. Note that it is an error for the secondaryalias to also define a secondaryaliasname (eg, if B is a secondaryalias of A, B is not allowed to have its own secondaryalias).",,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,volumefalloffcurve,if blank uses the linear curve which can not be changed. A string 'XXXX' corresponds to the curve defined by the file 'soundaliases/XXXX.vfcurve',,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,startdelay,defaults to no delay. The value is the number of milliseconds to delay starting the sound by,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,speakermap,if blank uses the default speakermappings which cannot be changed. A string 'XXXX' corresponds to the speakermap defined by the file 'soundaliases/XXXX.spkrmap'. ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,reverb,"blank means the alias is affected normally by wet and dry levels, ""fulldrylevel"" forces the alias to use a full drylevel (ignoring the global drylevel), ""nowetlevel"" forces the alias to use no wetlevel (ignoring the global wetlevel)",,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,lfe percentage,this determines what percentage of the highest calculated spatialized speaker volume should be passed to the LFE. blank means no LFE for the sound,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

name,sequence,file,vol_min,vol_max,vol_mod,pitch_min,pitch_max,dist_min,dist_max,channel,type,probability,loop,masterslave,loadspec,subtitle,compression,secondaryaliasname,volumefalloffcurve,startdelay,speakermap,reverb,lfe percentage

null,,null.wav,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

#  ///DOORS///

doorsound,,Doors/mrk_shutter.move4.wav,1,,,,,,,local,streamed,,,,mapname

Note that you need to change mapname in the last sentence to the name of your map. Also the part that says: Doors/mrk_shutter.move4.wav is pointed to a file in one of the iw files located in youre main folder. If you want an other sound, just loop for the path of that sound and change the line.

Hope this helps a bit, if not, post back.
Image

User avatar
<LT>YosemiteSam[NL]
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 2155
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 2:07 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by <LT>YosemiteSam[NL] » September 7th, 2007, 9:05 am

Thx Drof, I'll try it out this weekend or this evening maybe.

The door I made works btw. opens with trigger and closes after a few seconds...thx alot guys !!
Last edited by <LT>YosemiteSam[NL] on September 7th, 2007, 3:43 pm, edited 2 times in total.

All-Killer
CJ Worshipper
CJ Worshipper
Posts: 383
Joined: December 16th, 2005, 6:38 pm

Post by All-Killer » September 7th, 2007, 12:12 pm

Well done 8) Now add the sound.
Image

User avatar
<LT>YosemiteSam[NL]
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 2155
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 2:07 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by <LT>YosemiteSam[NL] » September 7th, 2007, 6:24 pm

I wil.
I now made 2 doors which open simultaneously and close automatic. Damn I'm proud of myself 8) :)

All-Killer
CJ Worshipper
CJ Worshipper
Posts: 383
Joined: December 16th, 2005, 6:38 pm

Post by All-Killer » September 8th, 2007, 10:17 am

Hahaha, i know the feeling. Mostly i have those things when i make a 80/100 code line scripted event for singleplayer and it works. :)
Image

User avatar
<LT>YosemiteSam[NL]
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 2155
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 2:07 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by <LT>YosemiteSam[NL] » September 8th, 2007, 5:58 pm

:) I can imagine.

I got the sound also working .. thx drof and rest for the tips and help.
Took a while to make it work but the problem was that Excel opened the csv files and when I saved the file the code was f*ched up and did not work.

What I can't figure out is how do I get the customsounds to work.
- Where do I put the custom.wav file and how do I link to it in the CSV file ?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 34 guests