Just a quick general question

Have questions about CoD2 mapping that aren't covered in the tutorials section? Post here!

Moderator: Core Staff

red_gee
CJ Worshipper
CJ Worshipper

Just a quick general question

Post by red_gee » July 9th, 2006, 9:37 pm

I am new to Radiant, and mapping in general, But I have mapped before, a little bit in doom and a bit in FarCry on console, which is liking having your hand led, there is way more options in radiant, and I kinda like it

Well my question, I am actually trying to reproduce a map from scratch, don't want to give too much away about the map itself.
It is obvious that you don't overlap brushes. But playing some custom maps I have noticed (on many occasions) that it appears as though light sometimes leaks through corners of walls. I presume this is because the mapper just butted to walls together, (ie, didn't take the time to clip the walls at a forty five degree angle and then slide them against each other).
Is this butting the cause for (what I will call) light leaks into rooms?

Ty in advance

Drofder2004
Core Staff
Core Staff

Post by Drofder2004 » July 9th, 2006, 9:57 pm

Yes. If walls are not made at 45 degree angles, light can leak through... but although I am known for telling people to use 45 degree angled walls as often as possible, in very detailed maps, this is not always possible (most of my pavlov port is made of striaght angled walls)
Virgin Media 20Mb Broadband:
"Perfect for families going online at the same time, downloading movies, online gaming and more."
Borked internet since: 22-07-2010

aicaramba
Past/Inactive Team Member

Post by aicaramba » July 9th, 2006, 10:02 pm

If u look at basic tutorial for making a room at http://www.modsonline.com, they dont tell u do angle the corners..
P.S.V. Kampioen!

Drofder2004
Core Staff
Core Staff

Post by Drofder2004 » July 9th, 2006, 11:25 pm