Can someone give me a walkthrough on how to make a GUID tele

Have questions about CoD4 mapping that aren't covered in the tutorials section? Post here!

Moderator: Core Staff

Post Reply
Pun1sheR
CJ Wannabe
CJ Wannabe
Posts: 39
Joined: August 27th, 2013, 7:29 pm

Can someone give me a walkthrough on how to make a GUID tele

Post by Pun1sheR » January 19th, 2014, 3:03 am

I have the script for it, but i have no idea of what to do in radiant? Can anyone explain please?


adminroom()
{
teleg1 = "ea4c8b0d4ac809dc05684336b6090cf2";
teleg2 = "17394706c57eec6b6f15c16f42aa99a0";
teleg3 = "";
teletrig = getent("adminroom","targetname");
while (1)
{
teletrig waittill ("trigger", user );
tempGuid = user getGUID();
if((tempGuid == teleg1) || (tempGuid == teleg2) || (tempGuid == teleg3)
{
org2 = (0,168,-364);
user setOrigin(org2, 0.1);
}
else
{
user suicide();
wait 3;
}
}
}

User avatar
Drofder2004
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 13313
Joined: April 13th, 2005, 8:22 pm
Location: UK, London

Re: Can someone give me a walkthrough on how to make a GUID

Post by Drofder2004 » January 19th, 2014, 11:31 am

It looks ok, this will not work on a listen server however, your server must be online/dedi.

Easiest thing to do check the value of the GUID of the user by printing it to screen, if it comes back as zero, you are not able to retrieve GUIDs.
Image
Virgin Media 20Mb Broadband:
"Perfect for families going online at the same time, downloading movies, online gaming and more."
Borked internet since: 22-07-2010

Pedsdude
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15908
Joined: October 15th, 2004, 7:18 pm
Location: UK

Re: Can someone give me a walkthrough on how to make a GUID

Post by Pedsdude » January 19th, 2014, 1:43 pm

- Create a brush
- Give it the 'trigger' texture
- Select the brush
- Right click in 2D view and go Trigger > Use (if you want a user to press Use to activate it, otherwise you can also use Trigger > Multiple so that they are teleported when they walk on it).
- With the brush selected, press 'N' to bring up the entities box. Enter key as "targetname" as value as "adminroom".
Image
Image

User avatar
Drofder2004
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 13313
Joined: April 13th, 2005, 8:22 pm
Location: UK, London

Re: Can someone give me a walkthrough on how to make a GUID

Post by Drofder2004 » January 19th, 2014, 2:58 pm

Pedsdude wrote:- Create a brush
- Give it the 'trigger' texture
- Select the brush
- Right click in 2D view and go Trigger > Use (if you want a user to press Use to activate it, otherwise you can also use Trigger > Multiple so that they are teleported when they walk on it).
- With the brush selected, press 'N' to bring up the entities box. Enter key as "targetname" as value as "adminroom".
Oops, that's what I get for script reading instead of question reading.

Do this ^.
Image
Virgin Media 20Mb Broadband:
"Perfect for families going online at the same time, downloading movies, online gaming and more."
Borked internet since: 22-07-2010

Pun1sheR
CJ Wannabe
CJ Wannabe
Posts: 39
Joined: August 27th, 2013, 7:29 pm

Re: Can someone give me a walkthrough on how to make a GUID

Post by Pun1sheR » January 19th, 2014, 9:14 pm

Thank you PeDs and Drofder, the script gives me errors having to do with the tempGuid section of the script, it keeps telling me that it is not defined, yet i have it defined clearly

User avatar
Drofder2004
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 13313
Joined: April 13th, 2005, 8:22 pm
Location: UK, London

Re: Can someone give me a walkthrough on how to make a GUID

Post by Drofder2004 » January 19th, 2014, 9:36 pm

After the "getGUID" do a print

Code: Select all

iprintlnbold("^1*** ^7Player: " + user.name +" ^7GUID: " + tempGuid);
And finally, are you running it on a dedicated server?
Image
Virgin Media 20Mb Broadband:
"Perfect for families going online at the same time, downloading movies, online gaming and more."
Borked internet since: 22-07-2010

Pun1sheR
CJ Wannabe
CJ Wannabe
Posts: 39
Joined: August 27th, 2013, 7:29 pm

Re: Can someone give me a walkthrough on how to make a GUID

Post by Pun1sheR » January 20th, 2014, 3:46 pm

No im not, but i cant even get in the map because it gives me that error.

User avatar
Drofder2004
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 13313
Joined: April 13th, 2005, 8:22 pm
Location: UK, London

Re: Can someone give me a walkthrough on how to make a GUID

Post by Drofder2004 » January 20th, 2014, 4:37 pm

Screenshot the error please.
Image
Virgin Media 20Mb Broadband:
"Perfect for families going online at the same time, downloading movies, online gaming and more."
Borked internet since: 22-07-2010

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests