script error

Have questions about CoD/UO mapping that aren't covered in the tutorials section? Post here!

Moderator: Core Staff

Mant!s NL
CJ Wannabe
CJ Wannabe
Posts: 25
Joined: March 3rd, 2007, 3:38 pm
Location: Bilthoven (Utrecht) The Netherlands
Contact:

script error

Post by Mant!s NL » July 5th, 2007, 7:41 pm

hi there, if I want to test my map with script etc it said bad syntax here is my gsc and I cant figure out.
main()
{

maps\mp\_load::main();
maps\mp\dustglass_SOUND();

thread tekst();
}

tekst()
{
trigger = getent ("tekst", "targetname");
while(1)
{
trigger waittill ("trigger", user);
user iprintlnbold("Congrats, " + user.name + ", ^1Found The Secret Room!");
wait 2;
user iprintlnbold("^4S^7tay ^4a^7while ^4a^7nd ^4t^7ake a ^4g^7ood ^4l^7ook ^4a^7round");
wait 2;
user iprintlnbold("^1H^7ave ^1F^7un ^1a^7nd ^1E^7njoy ^1w^7ith ^1t^7he ^1m^7usic!");
wait 3;
}
}
and here is the other gsc

key: targetname
value: dustglass_trig

speaker:
key: targetname
value: dustglass_speaker
main()
{

thread dustglass();
}

dustglass()
{
speaker = getent ("dustglass_speaker","targetname");
trigger = getent ("dustglass_trig","targetname");
while(1)
{
trigger waittill ("trigger");
speaker playsound("superstring");
wait(2)
}
}
thanks in advance

Lethal323

Post by Lethal323 » July 5th, 2007, 8:10 pm

I didnt quite see anything wrong but I sure know a way you can tell what line it is on...


Load CoD

Type

Code: Select all

/developer 1
in console

load your map

When you get your Script Compile Error go into console and it will tell you from what line it was that it got that error... Look at that line, if you cant figure it out come here and I probably can...
Last edited by Lethal323 on July 5th, 2007, 10:17 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Luke
Past/Inactive Team Member
Past/Inactive Team Member
Posts: 1774
Joined: May 31st, 2005, 12:42 am
Location: Cornwall, UK

Post by Luke » July 5th, 2007, 8:22 pm

only thing i could see was a missing ; after wait(2) in the 2nd gsc.
Watch this before posting a question: http://www.albinoblacksheep.com/flash/posting.php

Lethal323

Post by Lethal323 » July 5th, 2007, 10:02 pm

Ya, i never looked at the second script because he said it was in the 1st one... so... That could be a prob

Mant!s NL
CJ Wannabe
CJ Wannabe
Posts: 25
Joined: March 3rd, 2007, 3:38 pm
Location: Bilthoven (Utrecht) The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Mant!s NL » July 7th, 2007, 10:34 am

well here is the screenshot of the error;

http://img258.imageshack.us/my.php?image=errorde7.png

Lethal323

Post by Lethal323 » July 7th, 2007, 10:57 am

Im not very good with loading other scripts so, someone else is gonna half to help ya, sorry...


I would just tell you to add the sounds to the bottom of the scripts, but thats not nesscacy to do because your idea will work fine if someone can fix the syntax...

Mant!s NL
CJ Wannabe
CJ Wannabe
Posts: 25
Joined: March 3rd, 2007, 3:38 pm
Location: Bilthoven (Utrecht) The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Mant!s NL » July 7th, 2007, 1:07 pm

ok no problem and I changed that ; behind the wait(2) but still the same problem.:S
maby you need my csv file here or...?

this is my pk3 file maby is there something wrong??

maps/mp/dustglass.bsp and dustglass.gsc and dustglass_SOUND.gsc
mp/dustglass.area file
sound/superstring
soundaliases/ dustglass.csv

User avatar
Drofder2004
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 13315
Joined: April 13th, 2005, 8:22 pm
Location: UK, London

Post by Drofder2004 » July 7th, 2007, 1:26 pm

Change...

Code: Select all

maps\mp\dustglass_SOUND();
To...

Code: Select all

maps\mp\dustglass_SOUND::main();
Image
Virgin Media 20Mb Broadband:
"Perfect for families going online at the same time, downloading movies, online gaming and more."
Borked internet since: 22-07-2010

Mant!s NL
CJ Wannabe
CJ Wannabe
Posts: 25
Joined: March 3rd, 2007, 3:38 pm
Location: Bilthoven (Utrecht) The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Mant!s NL » July 8th, 2007, 2:22 pm


Lethal323

Post by Lethal323 » July 8th, 2007, 4:19 pm

I have an idea, may not be the greatest by hey..


Try taking off _sound and name it just dustglass see what happens

User avatar
Drofder2004
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 13315
Joined: April 13th, 2005, 8:22 pm
Location: UK, London

Post by Drofder2004 » July 8th, 2007, 4:28 pm

It says cannot find script. Make sure everything is named correctly, and in its correct location. Remove the caps, change the wording , wahatever.
Image
Virgin Media 20Mb Broadband:
"Perfect for families going online at the same time, downloading movies, online gaming and more."
Borked internet since: 22-07-2010

Lethal323

Post by Lethal323 » July 8th, 2007, 4:37 pm

well when i looked at the error it said "maps/mp/dustglass.gsc" he has it marked as "dustglass_SOUND.gsc" that why I said try taking off the _SOUND

Mant!s NL
CJ Wannabe
CJ Wannabe
Posts: 25
Joined: March 3rd, 2007, 3:38 pm
Location: Bilthoven (Utrecht) The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Mant!s NL » July 8th, 2007, 4:41 pm

lol omg stupid error. so it should be maps\mp\dustlgass::main(); ?

Lethal323

Post by Lethal323 » July 8th, 2007, 4:44 pm

ya, try it, see what happens..

Code: Select all

maps/mp/dustglass::main();

Mant!s NL
CJ Wannabe
CJ Wannabe
Posts: 25
Joined: March 3rd, 2007, 3:38 pm
Location: Bilthoven (Utrecht) The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Mant!s NL » July 8th, 2007, 4:47 pm

lol no didn't work:(

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest